Collaboration is a key value at the heart of OICR.

Collaboration is an integral driver of our leadership team, which brings together experts with diverse voices, backgrounds and skill sets to lead our shared pursuit of world-class translational cancer research together.

Board of Directors
Bradly G. Wouters, PhD
Executive Vice President, Science and Research, University Health Network
Learn more
Dawn Powell, MSc
President, Dawn M. Powell Appraisals
Learn more
Geoffrey Porter, MD
Professor of Surgery, Ramia Chair in Surgical Oncology, Dalhousie University
Learn more
Morag Park, PhD
Director, Rosalind and Morris Goodman Cancer Research Centre
Learn more
Ken Newport, CPA
Chair, BioCanRx
Learn more
Dale Lawr, CPA
Former Chief Risk Officer, Infrastructure Ontario
Learn more
Ken Lawless, MSc
President and Chief Executive Officer, Epitope Capital Corp. & Chief Executive officer, BioDiesel Reactor Technologies Inc.
Learn more
Wendy Kelley, JD
Chief Legal Officer, People Corporation
Learn more
Jonathan Irish MD M.Sc. FRCSC FACS
Provincial Head, Surgical Oncology, Cancer Care Ontario/Ontario Health
Learn more
Dennis Giokas, MSc
Chief Information Officer, MedChart & Former Chief Technology Officer, Canada Health Infoway
Learn more
Susan Fitzpatrick
Head Canadian Drug Agency Transition Office at Health Canada
Learn more
Kevin Empey, CPA
Former President and Chief Executive Officer, Lakeridge Health
Learn more
Janice Deakin, PhD
Former Provost & Vice President, Academic, Western University
Learn more
Sharon M. Chandler, BA
Former Chief Operations Officer, Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology Pension Plan
Learn more
Malcolm Campbell, PhD
Vice-President, Research, University of Guelph
Learn more
Jason Berman, MD
Chief Executive Officer and Scientific Director, Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO); Research Institute and Vice President Research, CHEO
Learn more
Tom Closson, BASc, MBA (Chair)
Former President and CEO: University Health Network, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Ontario Hospital Association, Capital Health Region
Learn more
Scientific Advisory Board
Todd R. Golub, 
MD (Co-chair)
  • Core Institute Member, Chief Scientific Officer and Director 
of the Cancer Program, 
Broad Institute
Richard L. Schilsky, 
MD, FASCO (Co-chair)
  • Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, American Society of Clinical Oncology
François Bénard, MD
  • Professor and BC Leadership Chair in Functional Cancer Imaging, Department of Radiology, University of British Columbia
  • Vice President Research, BC Cancer Agency
Ewan Birney, PhD
  • Director and Joint Head of Research and Senior Scientist, European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI)
Hakim Djaballah, PhD
  • President and CEO, Keren Therapeutics
Sylvia K. Plevritis, PhD
  • Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Data Science
Elaine R. Mardis, PhD
  • Nationwide Foundation Endowed Chair in Genomic Medicine
  • Co-Executive Director, Institute for Genomic Medicine, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
  • Professor of Pediatrics, The Ohio State University College of Medicine
Deborah Schrag, MD, MPH
  • Chief, Division of Population Sciences, Dana Farber Cancer Institute
  • Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Commercialization and FACIT